Northeast Women's Volleyball Club League Northeast Women's Volleyball Club League  
   League Rules   
   Contact Us   

NWVCL » History


Northeast Women's Volleyball Club League (NWVCL) was founded by Jung Park of UConn during 1999-2000 season with eight schools from Northeast region. Now celebrating its 24th year, NWVCL has grown to serving over 84 teams from ten different northeastern states (CT, MA, RI, VT, NH, NY, NJ, DE, PA, and ME) in two divisions. The league always is well represented at the Club Nationals. You will often see 25-30 league teams represented at various levels.

NWVCL provides an opportunity for collegiate club players to play competitive volleyball in fun, safe and organized environment. The league puts emphasis on sportsmaship and having fun while playing competitive volleyball. The league also focuses on officials development in northeast region and running professionally organized tournaments. NWVCL is a proud member of NCVF, National Collegiate Volleyball Federation.

In the 2017-2018 season, NWVCL saw a record 65 teams competing in the league play. A new record 30 league teams competed in the 2018 NCVF Club Nationals with Penn State B team winning the women’s division 3, claiming the first national title for NWVCL. Two NWVCL teams, Boston College (9th) and Penn State (9th), finished in the top 10 of the Division 1 (Top 48 teams in the country). Other top finishers include UPENN (9th) in 1AA, Syracuse (21st) in 1AAA, Dartmouth (17th) in D2.

NWVCL was well represented with 23 teams attending the 2015 NCVF Club National Championships. Congratulations to UConn who finished in 9th in Division 1 which comprised of top 48 teams in the country. UConn won the NWVCL League Championship (Red Division) as well as the Northeast Ranking Tournament during the 2014-2015 season.

At the 2014 NCVF Club Nationals in April, UConn continued to do its best work at Nationals by finishing tied for 24th in the Division 1 of NCVF (top 48 collegiate club teams in the country) for the third straight year. UConn had finished in 3rd place after losing a heart-breaking 3 set match to the eventual league champion, Delaware.

The 2009-2010 season was an exceptional year for NWVCL league teams at the NCVF Club National Championships. Cornell Univeristy finished 5th in Division 1 as seven teams from NWVCL earned their way into playing in the toughest competition the nation had to offer. In Division 2 play, Yale University became the first ever National Champions from NWVCL by defeating South Carolina University in the final. NWVCL teams dominated D2 play as many of its teams had strong showing; West Chester (5th), Syracuse (5th), UConn (9th) and Ithaca (25th).

In 2003 we had Penn State and Rutgers finishing in the top 10 in Division 1at Club Nationals. In 2004, University of Pennsylvania won the Silver Division at Club Nationals (becoming the first league team to win a division title at nationals). In 2005, Cornell (9th) and Penn (17th) finished in the top 20 at Nationals.

Over the years many of NWVCL former players have gone on to coaching juniors, high school and college varsity and club teams. It is common to see former club players coming back to help out their club teams.

There are now over 350 Women's and 400 Men's club teams in the country, playing at very high level. If you are interested in participating in a collegiate club program around New England and Northeast Region, contact Jung Park who serves as the commissioner of NWVCL. Check out WWW.NECVL.ORG and WWW.NWVCL.ORG.


NWVCL Championship Results
Season Div Champion Runner-Up Site
2023-24 1 Delaware - A Villanova Villanova
2023-24 2 Geneseo Cortland - B Rochester
2023-24 3 Rhode Island Quinnipiac Sacred Heart
2022-23 1 Boston College Syracuse Boston College
2022-23 2 SUNY Geneseo Lafayette Lafayette
2022-23 3 Rhode Island Vermont Wesleyan
2021-22 Red Northeastern Rutgers - A Cortland - A
2021-22 Blue Columbia Rowan Cortland - B
2018-19 Red Northeastern Boston University Binghamton - A
2018-19 Blue Providence Columbia Fairfield
2017-18 Red Northeastern Boston University UCONN
2017-18 Blue Rochester SUNY-Geneseo Rowan
2016-17 Red Rutgers - A Boston University New Hampshire
2016-17 Blue Delaware - B Vermont New Hampshire
2015-16 Red Rutgers - A West Chester Rutgers - A
2015-16 Blue Bucknell Delaware - B Rutgers - B
2014-15 Red UCONN Delaware - A New Hampshire
2014-15 Blue Delaware - B New Hampshire New Hampshire
2013-14 Red Delaware - A Rutgers - A Delaware - A
2013-14 Blue Delaware - B Fairfield Delaware - B
2012-13 Red Delaware - A Syracuse Fairfield
2012-13 Blue Delaware - B Rutgers - B Fairfield
2011-12 Red UCONN Northeastern Cortland
2011-12 Blue Fairfield Temple Cortland
2010-11 Red Rutgers Cornell Boston University
2010-11 Blue Brown Cortland - B Boston University
2009-10 Red Boston University Penn Fairfield
2009-10 Blue Yale West Chester Fairfield
2008-09 A Boston University Penn State Yale
2008-09 B Dartmouth West Chester Yale
2007-08 N/A Penn State UCONN Bloomsburg
2006-07 N/A Boston University Penn Fairfield
2005-06 N/A Cornell Penn Fairfield
2004-05 N/A Penn Cornell Delaware
2003-04 N/A Penn State Penn Rutgers
2002-03 N/A Penn State Boston University Penn State
2001-02 N/A Penn State Rutgers Rutgers
2000-01 N/A Penn State Boston University Boston University

 • Latest News
 • Registration Information
 • National Collegiate Volleyball Federation
 • Championship Archive
 • Map of League Teams
 Commissioner, Jung Park


Home | History | Members | Schedule | Links | Contact Us

Copyright © 2024 Northeast Women's Volleyball Club League. All rights reserved.
League Contact: Jung Park.